ElectroCity

ElectroCity

ElectroCity is an excellent teaching tool students love and it is worth sharing with parents.  It is a game that focuses on critical thinking where students make various decisions as a mayor of this town in order to bring “prosperity” to the town and the people.  The focus of this game is not to indoctrinate students about any energy issues that currently are in debate as different mayors may define “prosperity” differently and, with that in mind, they try to make sound decisions as they run the town.
The comments below are students’ reflections where they discuss their definition of “prosperity”, the results of the game and etc.

21 Responses to ElectroCity

  1. spiro says:

    I like electricity because it teaches kids to learn how to take care of a city.

  2. zoey says:

    I love Electro city help me understand that I am more of a quite
    city .

  3. shiv says:

    prosperity means balance of money.

  4. magali says:

    I think electro city is a wonderful thing, Because you learn about keeping your land good and not to Polluted ! It helped me understand that I’ m more quite. Im a little bit of both I like electronic (some) like computers or i pods but i also like to have my city more quite and clean!

  5. tej says:

    in my pinion prosperity means the balance of things in money and the trees

  6. janusz says:

    I liked keeping it balanced.

  7. christophe says:

    my city will always have more nature then electricity. because my electricity will waste gas and coal if i don’t keep using windmills or geothermal plants. prosperity means to me that i will get more people.

  8. sajida says:

    i love electro city cause it teaches me how to balance a city

  9. luka says:

    electrocity is fun but the thing is you only get 150 turns

  10. Mire says:

    ElectroCity is a wonderful student friendly game. My idea of “prosperity” is the environment and how you should care about it. I also like having a certain amount of people not to noisy. I want a peaceful area for my people. ElectroCity shows you the responsibilitys of running a town.

  11. valerie says:

    ElectroCity is a great game that teaches students how hard it is to be a meyor and teaches them how to balance nature and buildings to make a great city. For me prosperity is more nature than buildings.

  12. Sara says:

    ElectroCity is a fun way to learn about our unit. It helped me understand that you have to balance a city. I would definitely recommend it.

  13. Josh says:

    I enjoyed being the mayor of this town and i enjoyed playing.

  14. Bladen says:

    Electro city helps kids learn how to use rescources and not to go bankrupt!

  15. Amina says:

    My idea of prosperity is not to use up your natural resources.

  16. Tabitha says:

    I love ElectroCity. It is really really fun. It taught me how to make a really really balanced City.

  17. Jescah says:

    Electro city is a wonderful peaceful place where you can buy different things from the shops and you can also go to Markets to check how much life you have.
    and it also teaches me quite a lot a lot about electricity and you can also learn about how to balance nature and buildings.
    I kind of hate how many turns you get.

  18. Jasmine says:

    I think that ElectroCity is a really fun way of learning about how you should use resources responsibly. you must use you money wisely by buying the right amounts of coal and gas when the prices are low and by keeping your city green but you need to build fun attractions to keep up the tourism. I would say that you should certainly go on this website. Have fun!

  19. Orlando says:

    I enjoyed this game because it teaches you about the environment. The thing is you only get 150 turns.

  20. Krish says:

    ElectroCity is a game that people play and they only get 150 turns. In the games you can buy buildings and collect points.

  21. Shikha says:

    I love Electro City!!! It is a good game for kids.It teaches us how to organize a city,take care and to have fun.Electro City helps kids to learn that you should take care of electricity,tourism and money.I think this should totaly stay on the website!!!

Leave a comment